تعيش أفضل / نمط الحياة

أمراض القلب: أنت لا تزال شاباً

بالتأكيد لا! على الجميع أن يكونوا على دراية بأمراض القلب وعلامات النوبات القلبية، وخاصة الرجال، فهم أكثر عرضة من النساء للإصابة بالأزمات القلبية، وبأمراض القلب التي تتسبب في وفاتهم.

لنأخذ رجلاً من محيطنا، يبلغ من العمر خمسين عاماً كمثال؛ الكوليسترول طبيعي إلى حد ما، ضغط الدم مستقر مع استخدام الأدوية، لا ارتفاع في مستوى السكري، غير مدخن. هذا الرجل معرض لخطر الإصابة بنوبة قلبية بنسبة 5%خلال السنوات العشر القادمة، وسيكون الخطر الواقع على المرأة هو النصف تمامًا، أي 2,5%! (يعتبر الخبراء أن أية نسبة أعلى من 7.5% في 10 سنوات هي نسبة عالية من الخطورة). وبحلول سن الستين، ترتفع نسبة الخطر على هذا الرجل إلى 12%، وببلوغه سن السبعين، تصبح النسبة مخيفة، إذ تصل ل 24.5% خلال 10 سنوات. ويبقى الخطر على المرأة دائماً، نصف خطر الرجل. ولا يتساوى الرجال والنساء في خطر الإصابة بنوبة قلبية حتى عمر 79 عامًا.  

نظرًا لأننا نقارن الرجال والنساء من نفس العمر وبصحة مماثلة، فإن هذه الزيادة في المخاطر تُعزى إلى حد كبير لكونك رجلاً. ويزداد الخطر سوءًا إذا أضفنا عوامل خطورة معروفة لأمراض القلب. على سبيل المثال ، إذا كان الرجل البالغ من العمر 50 عامًا مدخنًا للسجائر، فإن خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب لمدة 10 سنوات قادمة، يزيد إلى الضعف، من 5% إلى 11%. وفي سن الستين، يتسبب تدخين السجائر في القفز بالنسبة من 12% إلى 19% (ترتفع مخاطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب بشكل أسرع بالنسبة للنساء اللائي يدخن ، وهذا أحد الأسباب الأخرى لتعزيز الوعي بأمراض القلب لدى النساء.)  

المعرفة تساوي القوة: 

ماذا يمكنك القيام به؟! 

إذا أدرك الرجل أنه معرض لمخاطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب مرتين اكثر من المرأة، فماذا يفعل؟ 

عليه أولاً، فحص مستويات الكوليسترول في الدم. من خلال هذا الفحص، سيتمكن الطبيب من تقدير مخاطر الإصابة بالنوبات القلبية خلال العشر سنوات القادمة. إذا كانت نسبة الخطر أعلى من 7.5%، فمن المستحسن أن يبدأ في تناول عقار (الستاتين) لخفض الكولسترول.  

بعد ذلك، عليه إجراء تغييرات شاملة من أجل أسلوب حياة صحي. لا يمكن تغيير العمر، لكن بالإمكان إجراء بعض التغييرات المهمة التي تقلل إلى حد كبير من خطر الإصابة بنوبات قلبية:  

-إذا كان الرجل يتعاطى التبغ بأي شكل من الأشكال، فعليه الإقلاع أو معاودة الإقلاع عن التدخين، أو التسجيل في إحدى برامج مكافحة التدخين، أو استشارة الطبيب في هذا الشأن. -التمارين المنتظمة، لمدة 30 دقيقة، 5 أيام في الأسبوع على الأقل، سوف تحدث فرقًا كبيرًا، وسوف تقلل من خطر الإصابة بالسرطان والسكري ومرض الزهايمر. 

-الحمية الغذائية مهمة جداً، من أجل إنقاص الوزن، ولكن بشكل واقعي. يمكن لفقدان 5 إلى 10% من الوزن، أن يقلل من مخاطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب وارتفاع مستويات الكوليسترول والسكر في الدم. ليس مطلوباً الوصول للوزن المثالي للجسم، لاكتشاف الفوائد من تقليل مخاطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب. 

إنَّ من المهم جداً، أن نغير أنماط حياتنا بمشاركة الآخرين، وبمشورة الطبيب. هؤلاء هم من نحصل منهم على الدعم والتشجيع والمؤازرة. مشاركة الأوقات الجيدة، الطعام الجيد، وممارسة النشاط البدني مع الأصدقاء والعائلة، يعد علاجًا بحد ذاته.

LIVE BETTER / LIFE STYLE

Heart Disease: It’s Still a Guy Thing Too

“The fact is that men remain much more likely than women to have heart attacks or to die from heart disease,” says Felix Rogers, D.O., a cardiologist with Henry Ford Wyandotte Hospital.

Dr. Rogers explains it like this: Let’s consider a person who might be like someone you know – fairly normal cholesterol, blood pressure well-controlled on medication, no diabetes, and no history of smoking. At age 50, a man would have a risk for a heart attack of 5 percent over the next ten years, and a woman’s risk would be exactly half that. (The experts consider anything above 7.5 percent to be high risk.) By age 60, this man’s 10-year risk has climbed to 12 percent, and by age 70, it’s a frightening 24.5 percent. The woman’s risk remains exactly half that of a man. It’s not until age 79 that men and women share the same risk for a heart attack.

Since we are comparing men and women of the same age and in similar health, this increase in risk is largely attributed to being a man. The risk is made worse if we add in known risk factors for heart disease. For example, if the 50-year-old man described above were a cigarette smoker, the 10-year risk of heart disease more than doubles, from 5 percent to 11 percent. At age 60, cigarette smoking causes the risk to jump from 12 percent to 19 percent. (The risk of heart disease does rise much faster for women who smoke, which is one other reason to promote awareness of heart disease in women.)

Knowledge = Power: What You Can Do

So once a man is armed with the knowledge that he has a two-fold increase in cardiac risk compared to a woman, what’s a guy to do? Dr. Rogers suggests that the first thing is to get your blood cholesterol levels checked. Your doctor will then use that to calculate your personal risk of heart attack in 10 years. If the risk is above 7.5 percent, chances are it will be recommended that you start taking a statin drug to lower your cholesterol.

The second thing to do is to make changes for a healthy lifestyle. You can’t change your age, but you can make some really important changes that will greatly reduce your risk of a heart attack.

  • If you use tobacco in any form, please try to quit (or quit again if it’s not the first time you’ve tried.) Enroll in a smoking cessation program or talk to your doctor.
  • Regular exercise for 30 minutes at least 5 days a week makes a huge difference, and also reduces your risk of cancer, diabetes, and Alzheimer disease.
  • Weight loss helps, but be realistic. Losing 5 to 10 percent of your weight (you do the math!) can make a big difference in your cardiac risk, cholesterol levels and blood sugar. You don’t have to get to ideal body weight to see benefits in reducing heart risk.

Above all, don’t try to go it alone! See your doctor to get direct advice and encouragement. Get those around you involved in your quest for a healthy lifestyle. Sharing good times, good (for you) food and engaging in physical activity with friends and family is therapy in its own right – and is just what the doctor ordered.