الأبوة والأمومة

صحة المراهقين هل ابنك محروم من النوم؟

وحسب دراسة حديثة، صادرة عن مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، لا يتمكن أكثر من ثلثي طلاب المدارس في الحصول على قسط كافٍ من النوم في ليالي المدرسة. وتوصي الأكاديمية الأمريكية لطب النوم، بأن ينام المراهقون من 8 إلى 10 ساعات في الليلة بشكل منتظم، وذلك لتعزيز الصحة المثالية. ويمكن أن يكون للنوم غير الكافي تأثيرٌ سلبي على تحصيلهم العلمي وأدائهم الرياضي والعافية العقلية والجسدية، بما في ذلك مشاكل الاكتئاب والقلق وتعاطي المخدرات والكحول.  

من ناحية أخرى، فهي قضية أمان، إذ تُعد حوادث السيارات سببًا رئيسيًا لوفيات المراهقين في الولايات المتحدة. وفي استطلاع حديث، اعترف أكثر من نصف المراهقين بأنهم قادوا سياراتهم وهي في حالة تعب شديد. كما أفادَ واحد من كل عشرة مراهقين، أنه نام على عجلة القيادة.  

غالباً، ينام طالب الثانوية العامة، حوالي الساعة 11 مساءً. وتبدأ المدارس الساعة السابعة صباحًا، قبل وقت طويل من الوقت الافتراضي الطبيعي لاستيقاظ المراهق الطبيعي. لذلك توصي الأكاديمية الأمريكية لطب النوم، ببدء الدراسة في المرحلة الثانوية، الساعة 8:30 صباحاً أو بعد ذلك.  

نصائح للحصول على ليلة نوم سعيدة:  

ساعة النوم والاستيقاظ البيولوجية، لدى المراهقين، مبرمجة للسهر ليلاً والاستيقاظ في وقت متأخر. هم لا يستغرقون في النوم بسهولة. ولكن هناك أشياء يمكن أن يقوم بها المراهقون وقد تساعدهم في الحصول على نوم جيد ليلاً. 

فيما يلي بعض النصائح والتي لا تنطبق على المراهقين فحسب، بل لأي شخص يعاني من الحرمان من النوم:  

*اجعل النوم أولوية. ففي مجتمعنا المكتظ بالالتزامات، غالبًا ما يكون تخصيص وقت للنوم في قائمة الاهتمامات الرئيسية!

*حافظ على وقت ثابت للنوم والاستيقاظ، بما يمنحك ثماني ساعات على الأقل من النوم ليلا، حتى في عطلات نهاية الأسبوع والإجازات. 

*حافظ على غرفة النوم هادئة ومظلمة. اترك الأجهزة الرقمية المحمولة والكمبيوتر والهاتف النقال وألعاب الفيديو خارج غرفة النوم. 

*قم بإيقاف تشغيل جميع الأجهزة الرقمية قبل ساعة من وقت النوم. 

*شارك في الأنشطة الهادئة قبل النوم، مثل القراءة أو الكتابة أو اليوغا، أو أية طقوس مريحة تساعدك على النوم الهانئ.

PARENTING

Is Your Teen Sleep Deprived?

More than two-thirds of high school students in the U.S. are failing to get the sufficient sleep on school nights, according to a recent study from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

“The American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) recommends that teens should sleep eight to 10 hours per night on a regular basis to promote optimal health,” explains Virginia Skiba, M.D., a sleep specialist with the Henry Ford Health System. Insufficient sleep can have a negative impact on their grades, athletic performance and mental and physical well-being, including depression and anxiety issues and drug and alcohol use.

It’s a safety issue, as well. Motor vehicle crashes are a leading cause of teen deaths in the U.S. In a recent survey, more than half of teens admitted to having driven when feeling too tired and nearly one in 10 teens reported having fallen asleep at the wheel.

A typical high school student is biologically wired to fall asleep around 11 p.m. Many high schools in Michigan start school as early as 7 a.m. – long before a teen’s natural wake time. The AASM advocates a later middle school and high school start time of 8:30 a.m. or later.

Tips for a Good Night’s Sleep

Teenagers’ sleep-wake cycles are biologically determined – they are programmed to stay up late at night and sleep later in the morning. Most teens are instinctively night owls. Falling asleep is often a challenge, but there are things teens can do that may help them get a good night’s sleep.

Here are some tips from Dr. Skiba, which apply not only to teens but are great advice for anyone who is struggling with feeling sleep deprived:

  • First and foremost, make sleep a priority. In our busy society, too often making time for sleep is last on the list.
  • Maintain a consistent bedtime and wake time that allows at least eight hours of nightly sleep, including on weekends and vacation.
  • Keep the bedroom quiet and dark. Keep the TV, computer, phone and video game system out of the bedroom.
  • Set a technology curfew, turn off all devices one hour before bedtime.
  • Engage in quiet activities before bed, like reading, journaling or yoga, and establish a relaxing bedtime ritual.